Hoarders

by MullOverThis

Now, I realize this is a sensitive topic.

There is a show to which I have become quite addicted:  Hoarders.

For a few episodes, I could not get the connection.

“My husband left me in 1969 that’s why in 2013 I can’t see the toilet bowl, got to climb up over mounds of food in the living room, rats and raccoons live comfortably in the house, and I keep buying more stuff to store in the–oh yeah, there’s no room to store anything.”

“When my son stopped speaking to me, I lost all confidence so that’s why food is rotting in the refrigerator with expiration dates from six years ago and there’s no electricity in the home.”

There seems to be some uncontrollable anxiety that causes people to feel better with everything all over a house in complete disarray than to live in a relatively dirty environment.  Forget clean.  Just relative dirt would be imaginable.  The issues with hoarders are deep-seated.

I admire people who work with hoarders and the hoarders who go through the difficult process of learning how to cope with their anxiety and face their fears, rejection and disappointment.  What was first amusing and disgusting, isn’t really funny at all.  So, MullOverThis has learned something from observing how pain can translate into sub-human living conditions.

Leave a Reply

